The 5 Generations of Averys
In 1839, John’s brother, Joseph Clarke became MD of Lax & Co Wine Merchants. When he decided to sell in 1851, he bought a wine shop in Park Street, Bristol (est. 1793) and installed his brother, John, to run the business. In 1865, the cellars were rebuilt, becoming what are now our magnificent vaulted cellars at Culver Street.
In 1878, the premises were passed on to John’s sons – John Clarke, Edwin and Joseph. When the eldest son, John Clarke, died in 1919, Edwin sold his share and Joseph Avery took control of the family business.
Joseph’s son, Ronald, was born in 1899 and joined the business in 1923. He began to ship his own selections of claret, Burgundy and German wines which he bottled at the cellars in Bristol. He was a famously good blender of wines and well-known winemakers such as Wolf Blass trained under him. He was particularly fond of Cheval Blanc and is renowned for being the first to import Château Pétrus.
Francis John Avery
John was described by Jancis Robinson MW as ‘one of the great characters of the British wine trade’. He was a notoriously good taster and instrumental in bringing New World wines to UK wine drinkers. Iconic names such as Ridge from California, Felton Road from New Zealand and Penfolds Grange from Australia were first imported to the UK by John. John sadly passed away in March 2012 and is much missed by the Averys team and customers.
Today, it is 5th generation, Mimi Avery, who is introducing Averys to a new generation of wine drinkers. Mimi loves nothing more than meeting customers at tastings and events around the UK and sharing her family’s passion for wine.